The Anglo-Saxon, Norse, and Celtic Tripos is concerned with the history, material culture, languages and literatures of the different peoples of Britain, Ireland and Scandinavia, mainly in the earlier medieval period.


Number of students per year
Typical offer

The minimum offer is A*AA at A-level, or 7 7 6 (42+ overall) from Higher Level subjects in the IB. For other qualifications, please see the University entrance requirements page.

Essential subjects


Useful subjects

The ASNC department suggests studying essay-based arts and humanities subjects such as History, English Language or Literature, and modern or ancient languages.

Written work required to apply

Two essays will be required which have been written as part of your normal school work for A Level (or equivalent). You should choose the essays that you consider to be your best, but they should not be written specially for the occasion and, if possible should have been marked by a member of your school/college staff. These essays do not have to be Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic related.

ASNC at Clare

Clare has a tradition of taking one or two ASNCs a year if possible. The Department of Anglo-Saxon, Norse, and Celtic is one of the smallest and friendliest departments in the University - there are currently about 75 undergraduates.

The department of ASNC is an integral part of the Faculty of English, which is one of the biggest faculties in the University. All teaching in ASNC takes places in the English Faculty building on West Road. In addition to the college library, the main ASNC collections are in the English Faculty Library and the University Library, both of which are conveniently close to the college.

You will have the opportunity to study a variety of subjects, many of which you may not have encountered before, and can enjoy the pleasure of breaking new ground for yourself. Subjects you may study include medieval languages and literature, ranging from some of the grandest epic, heroic and mythological poetry to the great prose literature of Ireland, England, Wales, and Iceland.