Honorary Fellows

Clare College
College positions
Honorary Fellows



Mr Peter Ackroyd CBE FRSL Hon DLitt 
Novelist, biographer and poet


Professor Susan Alcock MA PhD FBA FSA
Special Counsel for Institutional Outreach and Engagement; Professor of Classical Archaeology and Classics at the University of Michigan


Sir Alex Allan KCB
British civil servant who served as chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee and Head of Intelligence Assessment for HMG between 2007 and 2011.


Professor K. Anthony Appiah PhD Hon LittD
Professor of Philosophy and Law, New York University, novelist and cultural theorist


Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE FRS 
Broadcaster and Naturalist


Sir Nicholas Barrington KCMG CVO 
High Commissioner to Pakistan, 1989-94


Sir Walter Bodmer PhD FRS FRCPath 
Human Geneticist. Head of Cancer & Immunogenetics Laboratory, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford; Principal of Hertford College, Oxford, 1996-2005


Professor Sir David Cannadine DPhil LittD FRHistS FBA FSA  FRSL
British author and historian specialising in modern history, Britain and the history of business and philanthropy; Dodge Professor of History, Princeton University; visiting professor of history at t Oxford University, and the editor of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography


The Right Reverend Vivienne Faull MA
Bishop of Bristol


Professor Margaret Faultless MA Hon Ram Hon FBC FTCL ARCM
Music educator; Director of Performance at the Faculty of Music, University of Cambridge; co-leader of The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.


H.E. Fernando Henrique Cardoso, LLD 
President of the Federative Republic of Brazil 1995-2002


Professor Henry Louis ‘Skip’ Gates Jr BA MA PhD Hon LittD
American literary critic, professor, historian, and filmmaker; Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director of the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University


Ms Anne Glover CBE FREng FRSE
CEO and co-founder of Amadeus Capital Partners; Non-Executive Director in the Court of Directors of the Bank of England.


Professor Sir Malcom Grant, CBE LLM LLD Hon LLD FAcSS
Barrister, academic lawyer, and former law professor; Chancellor of the University of York 2015-2022; Chairman of NHS England 2011-2018; President and Provost of UCL 2003-2013


Professor Sir (Richard) Tim Hunt PhD FRS 
Biochemist and Molecular Physiologist; Nobel Laureate 2001


Professor Dame Frances Kirwan DBE DPhil FRS 
British mathematician; Savilian Professor of Geometry at the University of Oxford


Air Chief Marshal Sir Richard Knighton KCB FREng
Chief of the Air Staff.


Lord Robert Mair, CBE PhD Hon DSC FREng FRS
Emeritus Sir Kirby Laing Professor of Civil Engineering and Director of Research at the University of Cambridge; Head of the Cambridge Centre for Smart Infrastructure and Construction (CSIC); Master of Jesus College, Cambridge, 2001-2011


Sir Roger Norrington, CBE 
English conductor


Mr Matthew Parris MA 
Author, political commentator, broadcaster and journalist


Dr John Milford Rutter CBE DMus Hon FGCM 
Composer and conductor


The Rt Revd Mark Santer MA
Bishop of Birmingham 1987-2002


Sir Mark Walport  PhD FRCP FRCPath FMedSci FRS
Medical Scientist. Chief Executive, UK Research and Innovation 2017-2020; UK Government Chief Scientific Adviser 2013-2017; Director of the Wellcome Trust, 2003-2013


Professor James Dewey Watson KBE ScD FRS
Molecular Biologist and geneticist; Nobel Laureate 1962


Professor Sir Andrew Wiles KBE PhD FRS 
Mathematician and number theorist. Royal Society Research Professor; Regius Professor of Mathematics, University of Oxford.


Lord Williams of Oystermouth DPhil DD PC FBA 
Theologian, Poet, Chancellor of the University of South Wales; Master of Magdalene College, Cambridge, 2013-2020; Archbishop of Canterbury 2002-2012


Lord Wilson of Dinton GCB 
Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, 2002-2012; Cabinet Secretary & Head of the Home Civil Service, 1998-2002.