Outstanding scientists elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

Royal Society building

Congratulations to Clare Fellows Andrew Carter, David Hodell and Honorary Fellow Anthony Appiah who have just been announced as three of the 90 exceptional researchers from across the world elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society, the UK's national academy of Sciences. 

Sir Adrian Smith, President of the Royal Society said: “I am pleased to welcome such an outstanding group into the Fellowship of the Royal Society. This new cohort have already made significant contributions to our understanding of the world around us and continue to push the boundaries of possibility in academic research and industry.”

Dr Andrew Carter and Professor David Hodell each Directors of Studies, for Natural Sciences and Earth Sciences at Clare respectively, continue to support and encourage students year on year to continue their discoveries in the world of Science. 

Professor Anthony Appiah is a cultural theorist and Professor of Philosophy and Law at New York University.

The College is proud of their contributions to science and the recognition from the independent scientific academy of the UK.

Read the full list of Royal Society Fellows