Clare Fellows join list of exceptional scientists and are elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

Royal Society building

Congratulations to Clare Fellows Cathie Clarke and Philip Jones who have just been announced as two of the 80 exceptional scientists elected as the newest Fellows of the Royal Society, the UK's national academy of Sciences. 

Sir Adrian Smith, President of the Royal Society said: “I am delighted to welcome our newest cohort of Fellows. These individuals have pushed forward the boundaries of their respective fields and had a beneficial influence on the world beyond."

Professor Clarke and Professor Jones are each Directors of Studies, for Physical Sciences and Medicine at Clare respectively, supporting and encouraging a cohort of students year on year to continue their discoveries in the world of Science. 

The newly appointed Fellows  join the ranks of Stephen Hawking, Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Lise Meitner, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar and Dorothy Hodgkin. 

Read the full list of Royal Society Fellows