

Minutes of the meeting held on Saturday 16 September, 2023

In attendance:

In person:

David Kirkman (1953), Michael Blair (1959), Nick Bosanquet (1960), Peter Sutton (1961), John Naylor (1962), Dai Thomas (1963), Colin Heggie (1964), John Speed (1967), Dapo Ladimeji and Colin Barrow (1971), Nigel Puttick (1972), Chris Goodwin (1974), David Livesley (1975), Martin Searle (1976), Huw Williams (1980), Victor Caddy (1981), Carole James (1984), Elisabeth Marksteiner (1985, Deputy Chair), Steve Travis (1987), Ben Rigby (1989), Kirstin Green (1991), James Mews (1992), Dave Mayer (1993), Aimee Crago (1995), Richard Haddon (2002), Joshua Alexander (2003), Jessica Ashdale (2005), Rishi Sharma (2010), Rosie Boxall and Tobias Roeder (2014), Loretta Minghella (1981, Master), William Foster (Secretary of the Alumni Council), Toby Wilkinson (Fellow for Development), Ben Crossland (Senior Development Officer), Shannon O'Shea (Events Officer) and Evie May Cassidy (2021, Development Assistant)

Online:

David Hacking (1958), Richard Hughes and Milo Kerr (1961), Norman Dawson (1966), Dan Roble (1968), Nuna Staniaszek (1979), Dominic Haigh (1980), Sophie Palmer (1988), Bronwen Steiner (1994), Una Clifford (1998)

Apologies:

Michael Sullivan (1955), John Harris (1956), William Jackson (1965), Mohammed Amin (1969), Andrew Sentance (1977), Simon Sammons (1978), Sam Luke (1979), Louise Sharpe (1981), Andrew Cainey (1982), Chris Withers (1992), Peter Gray (1994), Richard Flower (1999), Michael Malley (2004), Marcus Buck and Eleanor Lyons (2008), William Wynell-Mayow (2009), Imogen Garner (2012), Dionysios Kyropoulos and Ridhwaan Suliman (2013), Maya De Silva Wijeyeratne (2015)

- 1. <u>Welcome</u>: William Foster welcomed everyone attending the meeting in person or online, extending a particular welcome to the new YGRs who had taken office since the last meeting.
- 2. <u>Minutes</u>: The minutes of the 2022 meeting were received and approved.

3. <u>Matters arising</u>:

- a. William Foster gave a report on the Lady Clare Fund. The election of four alumni members to the Council of the Lady Clare Fund was confirmed and approved. YGRs were strongly encouraged to identify and encourage potential beneficiaries to make applications to the Lady Clare Fund.
- b. The schedule of forthcoming Reunion Dinners had been pre-circulated.
- c. Since the last meeting of the Alumni Council, 18 year-groups had appointed a new YGR, bringing fresh energy and perspectives to the work of the Alumni Council. Toby Wilkinson confirmed that YGRs were elected to serve for a period of five years, extendable by mutual agreement. The new YGRs are: Nick Bosanquet (1960), Richard Hughes, Milo Kerr and Peter Sutton (1961), Chris Ives and John Naylor (1962), Stan Riveles and Dai Thomas (1963), William Jackson (1965), Colin Barrow and Dapo Ladimeji (1971), Andrew Sentance (1977), Simon Sammons (1978), Nuna Staniaszek (1979), Victor Caddy and Louise Sharpe (1981), Carole James (1984), Dave Mayer and Ian Pearman (1993), Joel Hogarth (1996), Una Clifford

(1998), Jessica Ashdale (2005), Simon Leimbacher (2006), Rishi Sharma (2010) and Sayma Sultana (2019).

- 4. <u>Clare Association Bursary</u>: William Foster reported that the Clare Association Bursary had been awarded to a second-year History student in 2022–23. The current value of the Clare Association Bursary fund was £24,074, and £614 would be available to be spent in 2023–24.
- 5. Master's Report: Loretta Minghella gave a report on College developments over the past 12 months, drawing particular attention to the events marking the 50th anniversary of co-education, the installation of the new 'HOMMAGE' sculpture in Ashby Court, and the progress of the Old Court works and associated fundraising campaign, thanking all those who had contributed to date. Of the £25m fundraising target, just £3m remained to be raised. The Master spoke about the pressures on student mental health, noting that the College employs two full-time health professionals with student wellbeing as a core part of their role. Over the past year, the College had held moving memorial services for two much-loved members of its community, Anne Brewin (Honorary Member and long-serving Vice-President of the Boat Club) and Chris Cooper (1958, founding trustee of the Nicholas Hammond Foundation). In response to questions, the Master noted the positive relations between the College and the UCS and MCR.
- 6. <u>Development Report</u>: The report had been circulated in advance. Toby Wilkinson thanked the YGRs for their invaluable work in connecting the wider alumni body with the College.
 - a. Communications. The Development Office was committed to maintaining more regular contact with YGRs, and YGRs were asked to communicate more regularly with their yeargroups. Alumni benefits were not well known, and would benefit from being more widely advertised.
 - b. Reunion Dinners. It was agreed that those attending should be able to wear black tie or business attire, according to personal preference, and that invitations would reflect this; the most important consideration was that the dress code should not prevent alumni from attending. There was discussion about inviting guests to Reunion Dinners. It was agreed that the current pattern would be maintained, whereby alumni attending their 25th, 50th and 60th+ anniversary reunions could bring a guest if they wished to do so. It was noted that there was no pattern of dinners that suited everyone. The Alumni Council had decided a few years ago to change to the current system, and the dates of dinners had been set accordingly and publicised up to 2026. It was agreed that the new system should be allowed to run until that date before being reviewed. Alumni were welcome to arrange their own private dinners in Hall or Small Hall, by contacting the Hospitality Department directly.
- 7. <u>Careers Working Group</u>: A paper with the recommendations of the Working Group had been circulated in advance. Toby Wilkinson summarised the main points and recommendations, thanking the alumni who had participated in the Working Group. The recommendations were welcomed and approved. A Graduate Working Group would be convened to meet over the coming 12 months and report back to the 2024 Alumni Council. **Action: Development Office**
- 8. <u>Alumnus/Alumna of the Year</u>: William Foster read out the nominations for Alumnus/Alumna of the Year and voting took place. It was subsequently announced that Arwa Hassan (1991) had been elected Alumna of the Year. The College would write to her to invite her to accept the award and speak at Halfway Hall in Lent Term 2024. **Action: Development Office**

There being no other business, the meeting concluded at 6.20pm.