Clare College Cambridge

Teaching Fellows


This list includes Fellows who are available to teach, or to advise on teaching, whether or not they hold teaching posts. Italics denotes a Director of Studies; an asterisk indicates an External Director of Studies.


Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic

Erik Niblaeus* Associate Professor, Manuscript Studies



Dr Sheila Kohring* Manager of the Material Culture Laboratory, Division of Archaeology

Marta Mirazón Lahr Professor of Human Evolutionary Biology and Prehistory

Guy Jacobs Associate Professor, Human Evolutionary Genetics and Bioinformatics



Nicholas Simcik Arese* Associate Professor, Architecture and Urban Studies


Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Dr Rachael Harris Senior Language Teaching Officer in Arabic

Roel Sterckx Needham Professor of Chinese 


Chemical Engineering

Sam Stranks Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering



Dr Charles Weiss College Lecturer in Classics
Paul Cartledge Emeritus A.G. Leventis Professor of Greek Culture


Computer Science

Lawrence Paulson Professor of Computational Logic



Dr Phil Faulkner Senior College Teaching Officer

Giancarlo Corsetti Professor of Macroeconomics

Flavio Toxvaerd Associate Professor, Economics

Melvyn Weeks Associate Professor, Economics (Part I and Part IIB) 

Dr Vasileois Kotsidis* (IIA)



Dr Sue Brindley* Education



Ignas Budvytis Associate Professor, Computer Vision and Robotics (Part IIB)

William Byrne Professor of Information Engineering (Part IA)

Mr Aylmer Johnson Engineering 

Ioannis Lestas Associate Professor, Engineering (Part IIA)

André Cabrera Serrenho Assistant Professor, Engineering, Environment and Sustainable Development (Part IB)

James Woodhouse Emeritus Professor of Structural Dynamics



Dr Ian Burrows College Teaching Officer (Part IA)

Dr Tamara Follini Senior College Teaching Officer (Part II)

Fred Parker Associate Professor, English (Part IB)

Dr Anne Stillman College Lecturer

Jacqueline Tasioulas Senior Tutor and Associate Professor, English



Dr Andrew Friend Professor of Earth Systems Science 



Dr Elizabeth Foyster College Lecturer (Prelims and Part I, Michaelmas and Easter)

Dr John Guy Teaching Fellow in History

Hubertus Jahn Professor of the History of Russia and the Caucasus (Part II, Easter)
Andrew Preston Professor of American History (Prelims and Part I, Lent)

John Robertson Emeritus Professor of the History of Political Thought

Ruth Watson Associate Professor, African History (Part II, Michaelmas and Lent)


History of Art

Dr Lucia Tantardini* (Michaelmas)

Alexander Marr* Professor of the History of Early Modern Art (Lent and Easter)


Human, Social and Political Sciences (HSPS)

Helen Thompson Professor of Political Economy

Sian Lazar Professor of Social Anthropology (Social Anthropology Part IIA and Part IIB)

Sarah Lockwood Associate Professor, Centre for Development Studies

Dr Annis May Timpson*


Land Economy

Philip Allmendinger Professor of Land Economy

David Howarth Professor of Land Economy

Jorge Viñuales Harold Samuel Professor of Law and Environmental Policy



Neil Andrews Emeritus Professor of Civil Justice and Private Law

Kirsty Hughes Associate Professor, Public Law (Part IB, Part II)

Lorenzo Maniscalco Associate Professor, Law (Part IA; LLM)



Kirsty McDougall* Assistant Professor, Phonetics


Management Studies

Jaideep Prabhu Jawaharlal Nehru Professor of Indian Business and Enterprise

David Chambers Invesco Professor of Finance



Maciej Dunajski Professor of Mathematical Physics and Senior College Teaching Officer

Andrew Thomason Emeritus Professor of Combinatorial Mathematics

Gordon Ogilvie Professor of Mathematical Astrophysics

Julia Wolf Associate Professor, Mathematics



Paul Fletcher Bernard Wolfe Professor of Health Neuroscience (Pre-clinical, Parts IB and II)

Philip Jones Professor of Cancer Development (Part IA)

David Rowitch Professor of Paediatrics (Clinical)


Modern Languages

Anna Berman, Assistant Professor, Nineteenth-Century Russian Literature and Culture (Part IA)

Timothy Chesters Associate Professor, French (Part IB, Easter)
Dr Emanuela Davey* (Year Abroad and Part II)

Rodrigo Cacho Professor of Spanish Golden Age and Colonial Studies (Part IB, Michaelmas and Lent)

Simon Franklin Emeritus Professor of Slavonic Studies 

Helena Sanson Professor of Italian, History of Linguistics, and Women's Studies

Alison Sinclair Emeritus Professor of Modern Spanish Literature and Intellectual History



Marina Frolova-Walker Professor of Music History (Lent and Easter)

Mr Graham Ross Director of Music (Michaelmas)


Natural Sciences

Overall Directors of Studies:

Cathie Clarke Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics (Physical: IA, IB)

Dr Andrew Carter MRC-LMB Group Leader (Biological: IA)

Jason Carroll Professor of Molecular Oncology (Biological: IB)



Cathie Clarke Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics


Peter Leadlay Emeritus Herchel Smith Professor of Biochemistry

Jason Carroll Professor of Molecular Oncology

Dr Andrew Carter MRC-LMB Group Leader

Cell and Developmental Biology:

Anna Philpott Professor of Cancer and Developmental Biology


Lucy Colwell Associate Professor, Chemistry

Jonathan Goodman Professor of Chemistry

Michiel Sprik Emeritus Professor of Theoretical Chemistry

Earth Sciences:

Dr Nigel Woodcock Emeritus Reader in Earth Sciences

David Hodell Woodwardian Professor of Geology

Oli Shorttle Assistant Professor, Earth Sciences and Astronomy


Edgar Turner Associate Professor, Zoology

Andrew Balmford Professor of Conservation Science


Heike Laman Professor of Cellular and Molecular Biology

History and Philosophy of Science (HPS):

Tim Lewens Professor of Philosophy of Science

Dr Patricia Fara History and Philosophy of Science

Materials Science:

Dr Noel Rutter Materials Science & Metallurgy

Dr Paul Bristowe Emeritus Reader in Materials Science 

Maths for Biologists:

Dr Andrew Carter MRC-LMB Group Leader

Maths for Natural Sciences:

Gordon Ogilvie Professor of Mathematical Astrophysics


Julija Krupic Assistant Professor, Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

William Harris Emeritus Professor of Anatomy


Heike Laman Professor of Cellular and Molecular Biology

Jason Carroll Professor of Molecular Oncology


Hendrik van Veen Professor of Molecular Pharmacology


John Gibson Professor of Pathophysiology


Neil Greenham Professor of Physics

Richard Phillips Professor of Quantum Physics

Sam Stranks Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering

Plant Sciences:

Howard Griffiths Emeritus Professor of Plant Ecology

Ottoline Leyser Regius Professor of Botany


Dr William Foster Zoology and Emeritus Curator of Insects

Edgar Turner Associate Professor, Zoology and Curator of Insects in the Museum of Zoology



Tim Lewens Professor of Philosophy of Science

Douglas Hedley Professor of the Philosophy of Religion


Psychological and Behavioural Sciences (PBS)

Rebecca Lawson Assistant Professor, Psychology

Nicola Clayton Professor of Comparative Cognition Psychology


Theology, Religion, and Philosophy of Religion

Revd Dr Mark Smith Dean

Douglas Hedley Professor of the Philosophy of Religion


Veterinary Medicine

John Gibson Professor of Pathophysiology (Pre-clinical)

Nicola Holdstock Associate Professor, Veterinary Science (Clinical)