Clare College Cambridge


Number of students per year: 1-3
Typical offer: A*AA at A-level or 7,7,6 (42+ overall) in the IB or the equivalent in other educational systems. For Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers - Offers usually require AAA at Advanced Higher Grade; bands may be specified.
Essential subjects: No particular A-level subjects are required.
Written assessment: All applicants who are selected for interview are required to take the university-wide at-interview written assessment for Philosophy.


Cambridge University has an especially distinguished place in the history of 20th-century philosophy. It was here, in the early years of the century, that Bertrand Russell, G.E.Moore, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Frank Ramsey and others developed the analytic style of philosophy that is now prominent throughout the world. The Faculty of Philosophy at Cambridge retains a strong commitment to this analytic style, though this does not preclude active study and teaching of the history of philosophy from Socrates to Nietzsche, and of such subjects as aesthetics and political philosophy.

Students who come to Cambridge to study philosophy take the Philosophy ‘Tripos’, or course. This is divided into three parts - Part IA, Part IB, and Part II - each of which takes a year; so a student can progress through all three during an undergraduate course. As with many Cambridge courses, it is also possible to take each part separately, and thus combine the study of philosophy with that of another subject.

More information is available from the Philosophy Department's website.


Link to University Subject Page


Fellows in Philosophy

Professor Tim Lewens Professor of Philosophy of Science. His research lies in the Philosophy of Biology and Medical Ethics.

Professor Tim Smiley Emeritus Professor of Philosophy.

Professor Douglas Hedley Professor of the Philosophy of Religion. His research interests are Neoplatonism, Idealism and Philosophy of Religion.

Reading Lists

Click here for a list of recommended books.

See Student Profile: Madeline Dixon