Clare College Cambridge

Honorary Fellows

Mr Peter Ackroyd CBE, FRSL, HonD Litt

Novelist, biographer and poet

Professor Susan Alcock MA, PhD, FSA

Professor of Classics & Classical Archaeology at the University of Michigan; Director of the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World and Professor of Classics at Brown University, 2006-2015

Professor Anthony Appiah PhD

Professor of Philosophy and Law, New York University, novelist and cultural theorist

Sir David Attenborough OM, CH, CVO, CBE, FRS

Broadcaster and Naturalist

Sir Nicholas Barrington KCMG, CVO

Diplomat. High Commissioner to Pakistan, 1987-94

Sir Walter Bodmer PhD, FRS, FRCPath

Human Geneticist. Head of Cancer & Immunogenetics Laboratory, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford; Principal of Hertford College, Oxford, 1996-2005

Professor Sir David Cannadine DPhil, LittD, FBA, FSA, FRSL

Dodge Professor of History, Princeton University; President of the British Academy

H.E. Fernando Henrique Cardoso LLD

Former President of the Federative Republic of Brazil, 1995-2002


The Right Reverend Vivienne Faull MA

Bishop of Bristol

Professor Henry Louis 'Skip' Gates

Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director of the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University

Professor Sir Malcolm Grant CBE, LLD, FAcSS

Chair of the NHS Commissioning Board; Chancellor of the University of York;Chair of NHS England, 2011-2018; President and Provost of University College London, 2003-2013

Sir Tim Hunt PhD, FRS, FMedSci, FRSE

Biochemist and Molecular Physiologist; Nobel Laureate 2001

Professor Dame Frances Kirwan DBE, DPhil, FRS

Savillian Professor of Geometry, University of Oxford

Professor Lord Mair CBE, FRS, FICE, FREng

Sir Kirby Laing Professor of Civil Engineering (formerly Professor of Geotechnical Engineering) and Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Cambridge; Master of Jesus College, Cambridge, 2001–11

Sir Roger Norrington CBE


Mr Matthew Parris MA

Author, political commentator, broadcaster and journalist

Dr John Milford Rutter CBE, DMus, Hon FGCM

Composer and Conductor

The Right Reverend Mark Santer

Former Bishop of Birmingham

Sir Mark Walport PhD, FRCP, FRCPath, FMedSci, FRS

Chief Executive, UK Research and Innovation; Director of the Wellcome Trust, 2003-2013

Professor James Dewey Watson KBE, ScD, FRS

Molecular Biologist and geneticist; Nobel Laureate 1962

Professor Sir Andrew Wiles KBE, PhD, FRS

Mathematician and number theorist. Royal Society Research Professor; Regius Professor of Mathematics, University of Oxford.

Lord Williams of Oystermouth PC, DD, FBA

Theologian and poet. Archbishop of Canterbury, 2002-2012; Master of Magdalene College, Cambridge; Chancellor of the University of South Wales

Lord Wilson of Dinton GCB

Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, 2002-2012; Cabinet Secretary & Head of the Home Civil Service, 1998-2002.