Clare College Cambridge

Teaching Fellows


This list includes Fellows who are available to teach, or to advise on teaching, whether or not they hold teaching posts. Italics denotes a Director of Studies; an asterisk indicates an External Director of Studies.


Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic

Paul Russell* Professor of Celtic

Dr Ali Bonner* Lecturer in Celtic History of the Medieval Period



Dr Sheila Kohring Manager of the Material Culture Laboratory, Division of Archaeology

Marta Mirazón Lahr Professor of Human Evolutionary Biology and Prehistory



Wendy Pullan Emeritus Professor of Architecture and Urban Studies


Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Dr Rachael Harris Senior Language Teaching Officer in Arabic

Roel Sterckx Needham Professor of Chinese 


Chemical Engineering

Dr Bart Hallmark* Lecturer in Chemical Engineering



Dr Charles Weiss College Lecturer in Classics
Paul Cartledge Emeritus A.G. Leventis Professor of Greek Culture


Computer Science

Lawrence Paulson Professor of Computational Logic



Dr Phil Faulkner Senior College Teaching Officer (Parts I and IIA)

Giancarlo Corsetti Professor of Macroeconomics

Dr Flavio Toxvaerd Lecturer in Economics (Part IIB)

Dr Melvyn Weeks Senior Lecturer in Economics 



Dr Sue Brindley* Senior Lecturer in Education



William Byrne Professor of Information Engineering (Part IA)

Mr Aylmer Johnson Senior Lecturer in Engineering (Part IIA and IIB)

Dr Ioannis Lestas Lecturer in Engineering (Part IB)

James Woodhouse Emeritus Professor of Structural Dynamics



Dr Ian Burrows Bye-Fellow in English

Dr Tamara Follini Senior College Teaching Officer (Part II)

Dr Fred Parker Senior Lecturer in English (Part IB)

Dr Anne Stillman College Lecturer

Dr Jacqueline Tasioulas Senior Tutor and Lecturer in English (Part IA)



Dr Andrew Friend Reader in Geography

Dr Iain Black Geography 



Dr Elizabeth Foyster College Lecturer (Prelims and Part I)

Dr John Guy Teaching Fellow in History

Dr Hubertus Jahn Reader in History of Russia and the Caucasus (Part II)
Andrew Preston Professor of American History

John Robertson Emeritus Professor of the History of Political Thought

Dr Ruth Watson Lecturer in African History


History of Art

Dr Alexander Marr* Reader in the History of Early Modern Art

Dr Irene Cooper* Affiliated Lecturer in the History of Art


Human, Social and Political Sciences (HSPS)

(Politics, Psychology, Sociology, Archaeology and Anthropology)

Helen Thompson Professor of Political Economy

Dr Sian Lazar Reader in Social Anthropology


Land Economy

Philip Allmendinger Professor of Land Economy

David Howarth Professor of Land Economy

Jorge Viñuales Harold Samuel Professor of Law and Environmental Policy



Neil Andrews Professor of Civil Justice and Private Law (Parts IB and II)

Dr Kirsty Hughes Lecturer in Public Law 

Dr Lorenzo Maniscalco College Lecturer in Law (Part IA and LLM)



Dr Kirsty McDougall Affiliated Lecturer in Linguistics*


Management Studies

Jaideep Prabhu Jawaharlal Nehru Professor of Indian Business and Enterprise

Dr David Chambers Reader in Finance



Dr Maciej Dunajski Lecturer in Mathematics and Senior College Teaching Officer

Andrew Thomason Professor of Combinatorial Mathematics

Gordon Ogilvie Professor of Mathematical Astrophysics

Dr Julia Wolf Lecturer in Mathematics



Mr Simon Buczacki Cancer Research UK Clinician Scientist 

Paul Fletcher Bernard Wolfe Professor of Health Neuroscience (Pre-clinical, Parts IB and II)

Philip Jones Professor of Cancer Development (Pre-clinical, Part IA)

David Rowitch Professor of Paediatrics (Clinical)


Modern Languages

Dr Helena Sanson Reader in Italian Language, Literature and Culture (Part II and year abroad)

Dr Rodrigo Cacho Reader in Spanish Golden Age and Colonial Studies

Alison Sinclair Emeritus Professor of Modern Spanish Literature and Intellectual History

Simon Franklin Professor of Slavonic Studies

Dr Timothy Chesters Senior Lecturer in French (Part IA)

Dr Alyson Tapp Lecturer in Russian Literature (Part IB)



Marina Frolova-Walker Professor of Music History

Mr Graham Ross Director of Music


Natural Sciences

Overall Directors of Studies:

Dr Matthew Kenzie (Physical: IA, IB)

Dr Andrew Carter MRC-LMB Group Leader (Biological: IA)

Anna Philpott Professor of Cancer and Developmental Biology (Biological: IB)



Cathie Clarke Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics


Peter Leadlay Herchel Smith Professor of Biochemistry

Dr Andrew Carter MRC-LMB Group Leader

Cell and Developmental Biology:

Anna Philpott Professor of Cancer and Developmental Biology


Dr Lucy Colwell Lecturer in Chemistry

Jonathan Goodman Professor of Chemistry

Michiel Sprik Professor of Theoretical Chemistry

Earth Sciences:

Dr Nigel Woodcock Emeritus Reader in Earth Sciences

David Hodell Woodwardian Professor of Geology

Dr Oli Shorttle Lecturer in Earth Sciences and Astronomy


Dr Edgar Turner Zoology

Andrew Balmford Professor of Conservation Science


Dr Heike Laman Senior Lecturer in Pathology

History and Philosophy of Science (HPS):

Tim Lewens Professor of Philosophy of Science

Dr Patricia Fara College Lecturer in History and Philosophy of Science

Materials Science:

Dr Paul Bristowe Emeritus Reader in Materials Science

Maths for Biologists:

Dr James Lester

Maths for Natural Sciences:

Gordon Ogilvie Professor of Mathematical Astrophysics


William Harris Emeritus Professor of Anatomy


Dr Heike Laman Senior Lecturer in Pathology

Dr Jason Carroll Associate Lecturer


Dr Hendrik van Veen Reader in Molecular Pharmacology

Dr Graham Ladds*


John Gibson Professor of Pathophysiology


Neil Greenham Professor of Physics

Richard Phillips Professor of Quantum Physics

Dr Sam Stranks Physics

Plant Sciences:

Howard Griffiths Professor of Plant Ecology

Ottoline Leyser Professor of Plant Development


Dr William Foster Zoology

Dr Edgar Turner Lecturer in Zoology and Curator of Insects in Museum of Zoology



Tim Lewens Professor of Philosophy of Science

Douglas Hedley Professor of the Philosophy of Religion


Psychological and Behavioural Sciences (PBS)

Dr Elian Fink*

Nicola Clayton Professor of Comparative Cognition Psychology


Theology, Religion, and Philosophy of Religion

Revd Dr Mark Smith Dean

Douglas Hedley Professor of the Philosophy of Religion


Veterinary Medicine

John Gibson Professor of Pathophysiology (Pre-clinical)

Dr Nicola Holdstock Senior Lecturer in Veterinary Science (Clinical)