Clare College Cambridge

Honorary Fellows

Mr Peter Ackroyd, CBE, FRSL, HonDLitt

Novelist, Biographer and Poet

Professor Susan Alcock MA, PhD, FSA

Joukowsky Family Professor in Archaeology, Professor of Classics; Professor of Anthropology at Brown University; Director of the Joukowsky Institute for Archaeology and the Ancient World

Professor K. Anthony Appiah, PhD

 Professor of Philosophy and Law, New York University, novelist and cultural theorist.

Sir David Attenborough, OM, CH, CVO, CBE, FRS Broadcaster and Naturalist
Sir Nicholas Barrington, KCMG, CVO High Commissioner to Pakistan, 1989-94

Sir Walter Bodmer, PhD, FRS, FRCPath

Head, Cancer & Immunogenetics Laboratory, Cancer Research UK; formerly Principal, Hertford College, Oxford

Sir John Boyd, KCMG

Master, Churchill College, Cambridge, 1996-2006; H.M. Ambassador to Japan, 1992-96

Professor Sir David Cannadine, DPhil, LittD, FBA, FSA, FRSL Dodge Professor of History, Princeton University

H.E. Fernando Henrique Cardoso, LLD

Formerly President of the Federative Republic of Brazil

The Very Reverend Vivienne Faull MA Dean of York Minster

Professor Sir Malcom Grant, CBE, LLD, FAcSS

Chairman of NHS England; formerly President and Provost of UCL (2003-2013); Chancellor of the University of York

Sir Tim Hunt PhD, FRS

Nobel Laureate 2001, Head of the Imperial Cancer Research Laboratory for cell cycle control

Professor Dame Frances Kirwan, DBE, DPhil, FRS

Professor of Mathematics, Balliol College, Oxford

Lord Mair, CBE, FRS, FICE, FREng 

Sir Kirby Laing Professor of Civil Engineering (formerly Professor of Geotechnical Engineering) and Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Cambridge, since 1998; Master of Jesus College, Cambridge, 2001–11

Sir Roger Norrington, CBE

Chief Conductor (Stuttgart); Musical Director, London Classical Players

Mr Matthew Parris, MA Author, political commentator, broadcaster and journalist

Dr John Milford Rutter, DMus, Hon FGCM, CBE

Composer and conductor

The Rt Rev'd Mark Santer

Formerly Bishop of Birmingham

Professor Jonathan Spence CMG Sterling Professor of History (Yale)
Sir Mark Walport PhD, FRCP, FRCPath, FMedSci, FRS Director of the Wellcome Trust

Professor James Dewey Watson, ScD, FRS, KBE

Nobel Laureate 1962; Director, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, USA

Professor Sir Andrew Wiles, KBE, PhD, FRS

Royal Society Professor (Mathematical Institute and Merton College, Oxford)

Lord Williams of Oystermouth, PC, DD, FBA

Theologian, Poet, Former Archbishop of Canterbury (2002-2012); Master of Magdalene College, Cambridge University; Chancellor of the University of South Wales.
Lord Wilson of Dinton, GCB Former Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge; formerly Cabinet Secretary & Head of the Home Civil Service